New FNR Board of Directors

In accordance with the law of 31 May 1999 establishing a national [public sector] research fund, HRH the Grand Duke has, by recommendation of the Government, appointed the new Board of the FNR for the period 2019-2024.

As from 1 December 2019, the Board of the FNR is for a term of five years, composed of:

  • Tania Brugoni, Director, 1535° Creative Hub, Luxembourg;
  • Stéphanie Damgé, Director, Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg ASBL;
  • Jean-Marc Fandel, expert advisor, scale up, Luxembourg;
  • Yves Fromes, doctor and research director, Laboratoire de RMN CEA-Institut de Myologie, France;
  • Anouk Hilger, Director of Renewable Energy, Enovos, Luxembourg;
  • Martine Reicherts, former Director General at the European Commission;
  • Isabelle Schlesser, Director, ADEM, Luxembourg;
  • Richard Sedrani, Director, Novartis, Switzerland;
  • Thierry Wolter, Member of the Executive Committee, Ceratizit, Luxembourg.

Martine Reicherts is appointed Chair and Thierry Wolter is re-appointed Vice Chair of the Board.

“I am very pleased with this nomination. It is a great honour for me to succeed Véronique Hoffeld as Chair of the Board of the Luxembourg National Research Fund, the driving force behind public research in Luxembourg. During its 20 years of existence, the FNR has demonstrated its qualities, expertise and the added value it brings to the country’s research ecosystem.

“Investing in research is strategic for the development and future of the Grand Duchy, and I intend to continue the efforts made by my predecessors to advance the research environment in Luxembourg while ensuring its international visibility.

“I would like to greet all current and future researchers! My personal and professional experience has taught me that all research begins with a woman or a man, or a team. I intend to devote much of my attention to the human dimension of research, in all its components.” – Martine Reicherts, New Chair of the Board of the FNR

“I am looking forward to working with Martine Reicherts and Thierry Wolter within the FNR’s governance structures. I am convinced that we are going to form a team that will be able to design the future of the FNR. I would also like to thank Véronique Hoffeld for her unwavering commitment over the past five years.” – Marc Schiltz, Secretary General of the FNR

The FNR Board of Directors is composed of five women and four men.

Romain Martin, first government adviser at the Ministry of Higher Education and Research, is appointed as Government Commissioner to the FNR.

Read the original press release [French] on the Government website, issued Friday, 13 December 2019

About Martine Reicherts

Martine Reicherts began her career at the European Commission in February 1984 in the Directorate-General for Research and Innovation. After holding several positions in different Directorates-General and cabinets, she was appointed Head of Service at the Office for Infrastructure and Logistics – Luxembourg in 2003 and Head of the Publications Office of the European Union in 2007. In 2014, she succeeded Viviane Reding in the Barroso II Commission as Commissioner for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. From September 2015, she was head of the Directorate-General for Education and Culture and retired from the European Commission at the end of January 2018. Martine Reicherts is a member of the Board of Directors of the Banque Centrale de Luxembourg.

About Thierry Wolter

Thierry Wolter, born in 1965, has been a member of the management and board of directors of CERATIZIT (Luxembourg) since 2002, after holding various positions at CERAMETAL. He holds a Master of Science in Material Science Engineering from ETH Zurich and an MBA from the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration. Thierry Wolter is co-author of the book “Europe of 2012: Globalisation and social cohesion? Les scénarios luxembourgeois” published by Economica, Paris in 1997.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics purposes. Find out more in our Privacy Statement