FNR awards 8 Travel Grants to PhD candidates for participation in ESOF 2020

Following an open call for proposals among doctoral candidates, the FNR has selected eight Luxembourg doctoral candidates to participate in the 2020 edition of the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF), taking place from 5 to 9 July in Trieste, Italy.

Travel grants are awarded to the following early-career scientists:

  • Ahilan Manisekaran, PhD, LIST (Chemistry)
  • Anjali Sharma, PhD, University of Luxembourg (Physics)
  • Catherine Meyer, PhD, University of Hohenheim (Agricultural Sciences)
  • Hameeda Jagalur Basheer, PhD, LIST (Physics and Material Science)
  • Iryna Kyzyma, Postdoc, LISER (Economics and Social Science)
  • Jose-Luis Sanchez-Lopez, Postdoc, University of Luxembourg – SnT (Automation and Robotics)
  • Kacy Greenhalgh, Postdoc, University of Luxembourg – LCSB (Systems and Molecular Biomedicine)
  • Kim Greis, PhD, Freie Universität Berlin (Chemistry)

ESOF registrations open

Registrations to attend ESOF 2020 in Trieste, Italy, are now open, with early bird tickets available until 17 April. PhD candidates and postdocs funded via the FNR funding schemes AFR, Industrial Fellowships, PRIDE or IPBG may use their training & mobility allowance to participate at ESOF 2020, and are encouraged to participate in what is the largest interdisciplinary science meeting in Europe.


About European Science Open Forum (ESOF)

ESOF (EuroScience Open Forum) is the largest interdisciplinary science meeting in Europe. It is dedicated to scientific research and innovation and offers a unique framework for interaction and debate for scientists, innovators, policy makers, business people and the general public.

Created in 2004 by EuroScience, this biennial European forum brings together over 4 000 researchers, educators, business actors, policy makers and journalists from all over the world to discuss breakthroughs in science. More than 40% of the participants are students and young researchers.

More information can be found on the ESOF website.

Related highlights

Spotlight on Young Researchers: Anjali Sharma

Spotlight on Young Researchers: Jose-Luis Sanchez-Lopez

Spotlight on Young Researchers: Kacy Greenhalgh

This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics purposes. Find out more in our Privacy Statement